RescueBoatOur response area consists of the Town of Cochrane, a portion of Rocky View County and two provincial highways. We provide mutual aid when asked to the MD of Bighorn, the Townsite of Redwood Meadows, the Stoney Tribal Administration, Village of Ghost Lake and Village of Waiporous. We suppress:
  • Structural fires
  • Vehicle fires
  • Wildfires
We rescue:
  • In swift water and on low slopes
  • On the ice or on the water
  • If you are trapped at a high angle
  • If you are trapped in your automobile
Fire Personnel
The operational firefighting division is deployed from Griffin Station, in the Protective Services Centre building, located at 20 Grande Boulevard. Sunset Station is an unstaffed residential fire house and is located at 4 Sunset Square.

We operate a four-platoon system. Our roster consists of one full-time chief of fire services, a deputy chief and 18 full-time firefighters (16 dedicated to operations, and two dedicated to fire prevention). We are complemented by 53 casual, on-call firefighters. Hydrant maintenance is managed by Town water treatment staff.

Our apparatus consists of:
  • pumper trucks
  • rescue vehicles
  • bush buggy
  • aerial platform
  • tender/tanker
  • boat/jet ski
  • investigative vehicles
  • Chief vehicle