Street Sweeping

Town crews are starting this year's streetsweeping with a pre-sweep of main roads and residential areas (as weather permits). Watch for signs in your neighbourhood before your streetsweeping day.

The pre-sweep removes the heaviest material so the sweeper can do a better job when scheduled sweeping starts in residential areas later this spring. If you see Roads crews during this pre-sweep period, it's helpful if vehicles are moved, but not necessary.

Crews are also sweeping main collector roads, but at night to avoid disrupting traffic. Night cleaning is also starting on boulevards; crews will be out with power brooms and blower packs, along with the sweeper. The work is noisy and dusty, but efforts are made to keep disruption to a minimum.

2016 residential streetsweeping schedule
Please remove vehicles from the road by 8am on your neighbourhood’s scheduled day; use your driveway, garage and/or parking pad. If you do not have enough offstreet parking, you can park in the alleys on your scheduled street sweeping day.

Glenbow north of Glenbow Dr, Riverview, Riverside Pl, Heritage Hills Tue Apr 12
Glenbow south of Glenbow Dr, Glenbow Dr
Wed Apr 13
Riversong, Riviera, James Walker Tr, River Heights Ln
Thu Apr 14
Cochrane Heights, Sunterra
Fri Apr 15
GlenEagles West, Glen Vista, GlenEagles Dr
Tue Apr 19
GlenEagles East, GlenEagles Dr
Wed Apr 20
West Valley north of Quigley Dr, Quigley Dr, Fireside
Thu Apr 21
West Valley south of Quigley Dr, Quigley Dr
Fri Apr 22
East End, First St E, Headlands, Third St, binwall
Tue Apr 26
Jumping Pound, Bow Meadows, George Fox Tr
Wed Apr 27
West Terrace, West Pointe, Quigley Dr
Thu Apr 28
Bow Ridge, George Fox Tr
Fri Apr 29
Heartland and Horse Creek S
Tue May 3
Sunset Dr, Pt, Sq, Cmn, Cl
Wed May 4
Sunset Blvd, Way, View, Mnr, Sunrise View
Thu May 5

More information
WE’RE WATCHING THE SKY TOO
The street sweeping schedule depends on the weather. If weather or equipment issues stall the work, your neighbourhood will be moved to the end of the schedule. That way, the advance notice given in other neighbourhoods doesn’t have to be changed.

CLEANER STREETS MEAN CLEANER WATER
Cleaning winter debris off the roads keeps it out of creeks and rivers. Since our drinking water comes from the Bow River, the more we can do to keep dirt, gravel and other winter debris out, the cleaner our drinking water is.

SWEEP OFF YOUR DRIVEWAY
Want to get rid of the winter debris on your driveway? Simply sweep it onto the street away from the curb and we’ll scoop it up. Now your driveways’ clean, and your street is clear and safe for drivers, cyclists, in-line skaters and neighbourhood kids.

AVOID FLYING GRAVEL
Hate chips in your window? They’re usually caused by debris from the car in front of you. Loose gravel can crack your windshield and chip your paint. It can also cause cyclists to slide out of control, in-line skaters to trip, pedestrians to lose footing and vehicles to skid. That’s why we’re cleaning it up!